top of page

Corn Salad with Hot Honey Lime Dressing

I’ve had a semi-ban on using the oven for dinner in the last month. Chicago had a minor heat wave earlier in July, with temps hitting triple digits, and I found myself questioning my sanity as I dialed up the oven to preheat it to an inferno of 450. I can’t even remember what I was making, but I do remember I had a breaking point and knew I had to change up my meal plan. Because guess who’s got two thumbs and doesn’t mix well with a small apartment and ripping hot oven?


It’s me, you guys. It’s me.


Just like Drake says no new friends, I say no new recipes that use the oven at such a high heat that it will take over your entire apartment and make your air conditioner work double time.


Not as catchy, but I think it works.

Repeat after me: No hot dinners this summer.

So my next few posts, including this one, will focus on recipes that don’t involve the oven as much, or are at least meant to simplify summertime dinners. There may be some stove action involved, but that’s child’s play compared to the oven. Also, sometimes you just gotta cook things, because raw meat, ya know?


This first one is a chilled corn salad with hot honey lime dressing. (I didn’t say all heat was off the table.)


In addition to turning down the heat this summer, I’ve been trying to keep meals relatively simple, and this one is a good example. The corn salad was something new I’d found from Bon Appétit, and since that was my “stretch” recipe (i.e. something new I hadn’t made yet), I paired it with kielbasa and snap peas.


I’d like to sidebar on kielbasa for a sec. It’s basically a fancy person’s hot dog and I’m here for it. I’m a sucker for all things meaty and salty and this checks off both boxes. Treat yourself sometime, you’re worth the extra five dollars.

Back on track: The corn salad was super tasty and I loved the combo of sriracha and lime juice that dominates this dressing. The goal for this is to be chilled, but I also ate it warm after cooking the corn. It’s a great summer side, especially if you’re wary of mayonnaise-based salads. (Which I could write another post on, in defense of mayo and the mayo-based salad. It runs in my blood.)


Happy eating, and may your house stay as cool as this chilled corn salad.


P.S. You know what else tastes really good without using the oven? Takeout and ice cream. Just saying.


Corn Salad with Hot Honey Lime Dressing

Ingredients

  • 3 ears of corn, husked and shaved

  • 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

  • 1½ tsp. kosher salt, plus more

  • Freshly ground black pepper

  • 3 Tbsp. fresh lime juice

  • 2 Tbsp. honey

  • 1½ tsp. Sriracha

  • 1 tsp. granulated garlic or garlic powder

  • 1 jalapeño, thinly sliced

  • ½ cup cilantro leaves with tender stems

Directions

Heat the butter in a cast iron skillet and cook the corn kernels until golden brown. Let cool.

Meanwhile, whisk lime juice, honey, sriracha, garlic powder and salt to create the dressing.

Pour over corn and jalapeño and toss to combine.

Let chill for at least two hours and serve.


Test Kitchen Notes

The original recipe calls for avocado, which I didn’t have at the time. I’d definitely make this again with avocado (and maybe even a little cotija cheese).


The original recipe *also* calls for grilled corn. I don’t have a grill, so using a heavy cast iron skillet was the next best thing. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯


The directions recommend letting this chill for two hours before serving, but I’m not organized enough to actually do that on a weeknight. Can confirm this tastes as good slightly warm.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page