top of page

Spicy Strawberry Jam

I always buy strawberries with the best intentions. I tell myself I’ll cut them up, mix them in with yogurt in the morning, have them around as a healthy snack, yadda, yadda, yadda.


Or I eat five and the rest shrivel up in the fridge.


It’s a vicious cycle and one that almost started again when I impulse-bought a pint of strawberries last weekend. I know - wild. Out of control.


So there I was, staring down the strawberries in the fridge – would this be the day I finally cut them up into neat little slices and enjoy them like an adult who has her life together?


No. Are you kidding me? Somehow that was too much work. Naturally I decided it would be easier to make jam.

I can’t explain why my brain makes the decisions it does, but just follow me on this one.


Yes, this is more involved than just cutting up strawberries, but in general it was really easy to make and I used up the pint in one fell swoop. I *almost* never want to buy jam again. That's right, I'm going to become THAT person.


I also added sriracha for a pleasant kick after the sweet and tart strawberry flavor. To quote the great philosopher Hannah Montana: "You get the best of both worlds."

Here’s the recipe I adapted from Ina Garten. Enjoy with or without the spice!


Spicy Strawberry Jam

Adapted from Ina Garten

Ingredients

  • 1 pint strawberries, halved

  • 1 large lemon, zested and juiced

  • 1 cup sugar

  • 2-3 tsp. sriracha, depending on preference

  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds

Instructions

In a medium pot over low heat, cook the sugar, lemon and lemon zest until sugar dissolves, about 10 minutes.

Add the strawberries and sriracha. Continue to cook on low heat for 20-30 minutes, until strawberries release their juices and boils slowly. To check if your jam is ready, pour a small amount on a cold plate and see if it gels.


Remove from heat and let cool for a few minutes. Pour carefully into a jar. Add chia seeds if desired. (The chia seeds will expand within 12 hours and thicken the jelly, if needed.)


Let cool to room temp, then refrigerate.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page